The Woman in Black

The Woman in Black


Join the millions of theatre goers worldwide who have experienced “The most brilliantly effective spine-chiller you will ever encounter” (Daily Telegraph).

A lawyer obsessed with a curse that he believes has been cast over him and his family by the spectre of a Woman in Black engages a sceptical young actor to help him tell his terrifying story and exorcise the fear that grips his soul. It all begins innocently enough, but then, as they reach further into his darkest memories, they find themselves caught up in a world of eerie marshes and moaning winds.

Susan Hill’s acclaimed ghost story comes dramatically alive in Stephen Mallatratt’s ingenious stage adaptation. This gripping production, directed by Robin Herford, is a brilliantly successful study in atmosphere, illusion and controlled horror.

Book Tickets

  • Mon 16 Mar 2020 7:30 PM £37.50/£25.00/£17.50/£10.00
  • Tue 17 Mar 2020 7:30 PM £37.50/£25.00/£17.50/£10.00
  • Wed 18 Mar 2020 7:30 PM Captioned £37.50/£25.00/£17.50/£10.00
  • Thu 19 Mar 2020 2:30 PM £37.50/£25.00/£17.50/£10.00
  • Thu 19 Mar 2020 7:30 PM £37.50/£25.00/£17.50/£10.00
  • Fri 20 Mar 2020 8:00 PM £37.50/£25.00/£17.50/£10.00
  • Sat 21 Mar 2020 2:30 PM £37.50/£25.00/£17.50/£10.00
  • Sat 21 Mar 2020 7:30 PM £37.50/£25.00/£17.50/£10.00
visit Oxford Playhouse website

Book Tickets

  • Mon 16 March 7:30 PM
  • Tue 17 March 7:30 PM
  • Wed 18 March 7:30 PM Captioned
  • Thu 19 March 2:30 PM
  • Thu 19 March 7:30 PM
  • Fri 20 March 8:00 PM
  • Sat 21 March 2:30 PM

By Susan Hill, adapted by Stephen Mallatratt

Directed by Robin Herford

Age guideline 14+

Full Circle and Enjoy get 25% off a pair of tickets for opening night or Saturday matinee

People who bought tickets for The Woman in Black also bought tickets for...

  • comedy

    Karen Fisher aka Fisch is part of the Rebel Dyke Project, a group of, mainly, lesbian outsiders from the 1980’s. Fisch has been a significant member of this liv...

    Tue 21 May

  • opera

    A Chamber Opera by Gavin Bryars, libretto by Marilyn Bowering. It is the night of August 5th, 1962, the last night of Marilyn Monroe's life. As men enter her b...

    Wed 22 , Fri 24 - Sat 25 May

  • music

    Featuring Adrian Cox (clarinet) Play Jazz at Vespers Does New Orleans jazz belong in church? 65 years ago, in Oxford, Ohio, the c...

    Wed 22 May

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue