Oxford Proms - Concerto Spectacular

Oxford Proms - Concerto Spectacular



Maki Sekiya – piano

Lucy Downer – clarinet

Catherine Underwood - conductor

Our proms programme includes 2 of Mozart’s iconic creations, a premiere, and a popular opener by Handel.

Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.21, written in 1785, when he was only twenty-nine, just six years before his early death is sometimes referred to as the Elvira Madigan, after a now otherwise long-forgotten film that featured the work. The Clarinet Concerto, completed in 1791, the year of Mozart’s death, marked his farewell to instrumental music. It was also the first clarinet concerto to be written by a major composer. 

Duration: 1 hour 45mins with interval

Book Tickets

  • Thu 15 Aug 7:30 PM £15.00

Book Tickets

  • Thu 15 August 7:30 PM


Arrival of the Queen of Sheba from Soloman       Handel

Clarinet Concerto in A K622     Mozart

Capela Dos Ossos (premiere)     Tim Perkins

Piano Concerto in C K467     Mozart

People who bought tickets for Oxford Proms - Concerto Spectacular also bought tickets for...

  • music

    Featuring Adrian Cox (clarinet) Play Jazz at Vespers Does New Orleans jazz belong in church? 65 years ago, in Oxford, Ohio, the c...

    Wed 22 May

  • music

    Virtuosos Festival Elizaveta Tyun, Violin Amiran Zenaishvili​, Piano Presented by The International Music Competition "Grand Prize Virtuoso" Elizaveta Tyun...

    Sat 25 May

  • music

    ‘The King Shall Rejoice’ celebrates a moment in English history when the arts were re-embraced by monarch and people alike.  At the restored Court of Charles II...

    Sat 25 May

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue