Nigel Slater's Toast


Toast vividly recreates Nigel Slater’s childhood through the tastes and smells he shares with his mother, culminating in the young Nigel’s escape to London. From making the perfect sherry trifle, through the playground politics of sweets, the rigid rules of restaurant dining, and a domestic war over cakes, this is a moving and evocative tale of love, loss and...toast.

At various points during Nigel Slater’s Toast audience members will be invited to try tastes from Nigel’s childhood. Please note that food items may contain the following:

  • Nuts
  • Peanuts
  • Soya
  • Gluten (wheat)
  • Dairy, including Milk
  • Eggs

A full ingredient lists can be found here. For more information, please speak to a member of staff upon your arrival to the theatre.

Duration: 2 hours 20mins with interval

Book Tickets

  • Mon 26 Aug 7:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Tue 27 Aug 7:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Wed 28 Aug 7:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Thu 29 Aug 2:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Thu 29 Aug 7:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Fri 30 Aug 8:00 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Sat 31 Aug 2:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Sat 31 Aug 7:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00

Book Tickets

  • Mon 26 August 7:30 PM
  • Tue 27 August 7:30 PM
  • Wed 28 August 7:30 PM
  • Thu 29 August 2:30 PM
  • Thu 29 August 7:30 PM
  • Fri 30 August 8:00 PM
  • Sat 31 August 2:30 PM

Please note the handing out of food products takes place during this show and some items contain nuts. If you have any food allergies please call and notify our Ticket Office when booking.

Writer Henry Filloux-Bennett
Director and Choreographer Jonnie Riordan
Designer Libby Watson
Food Director James Thompson
Sound Designer and Composer Alexandra Faye Braithwaite
Lighting Designer Zoe Spurr

Age guideline 12+

undefined

 

  • The show rises like a good soufflé.
       
    Mail on Sunday
  • Only those of the sourest disposition would not love this bitter-sweet show.
       
    Independent
  • A show you can literally taste…foodies and non-foodies alike are well served. Tuck in.
       
    Telegraph
  • I JUST LOVED TOAST. Cast, script, set, everything flawless. GO!
       
    Nigella Lawson
  • Delicious. Funny. Touching. I loved it
       
    The Sunday Times
  • The show rises like a good soufflé.
       
    Mail on Sunday

People who bought tickets for Nigel Slater's Toast also bought tickets for...

  • theatre

    This adaptation brings Emily Bronte's passionate and spellbinding tale of forbidden love and revenge to life on stage. Set on t...

    Tuesday 2nd July - Saturday 17th August 2019 Wadham College Gardens

  • theatre

    Armed with only his father’s sword, an aged horse, and an annoying sister, the brave and impetuous D’Artagnan journeys to Paris to...

    Tue 23 - Sat 27 Jul

  • music

    Early Music by Candlelight Summer Festival 2019 Beguilingly beautiful pairing of two dulcet winds Telemann: Trio sonata in D from Tafelmusik Handel: Trio sona...

    Fri 12 Jul, Tue 23 Jul & Wed 7 Aug

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue