Nigel Slater's Toast


Toast vividly recreates Nigel Slater’s childhood through the tastes and smells he shares with his mother, culminating in the young Nigel’s escape to London. From making the perfect sherry trifle, through the playground politics of sweets, the rigid rules of restaurant dining, and a domestic war over cakes, this is a moving and evocative tale of love, loss and...toast.

Duration: 2 hours 20mins with interval

Book Tickets

  • Mon 26 Aug 7:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Tue 27 Aug 7:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Wed 28 Aug 7:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Thu 29 Aug 2:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Thu 29 Aug 7:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Fri 30 Aug 8:00 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Sat 31 Aug 2:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Sat 31 Aug 7:30 PM £32.00/£23.00/£15.00/£10.00
visit Oxford Playhouse website

Book Tickets

  • Mon 26 August 7:30 PM
  • Tue 27 August 7:30 PM
  • Wed 28 August 7:30 PM
  • Thu 29 August 2:30 PM
  • Thu 29 August 7:30 PM
  • Fri 30 August 8:00 PM
  • Sat 31 August 2:30 PM

Writer Henry Filloux-Bennett
Director and Choreographer Jonnie Riordan
Designer Libby Watson
Food Director James Thompson
Sound Designer and Composer Alexandra Faye Braithwaite
Lighting Designer Zoe Spurr

Age guideline 12+

Full Circle and Enjoy get 25% off a pair of tickets for opening night or Saturday matinee.

  • The show rises like a good soufflé.
       
    Mail on Sunday
  • Only those of the sourest disposition would not love this bitter-sweet show.
       
    Independent
  • A show you can literally taste…foodies and non-foodies alike are well served. Tuck in.
       
    Telegraph
  • I JUST LOVED TOAST. Cast, script, set, everything flawless. GO!
       
    Nigella Lawson
  • Delicious. Funny. Touching. I loved it
       
    The Sunday Times
  • The show rises like a good soufflé.
       
    Mail on Sunday

People who bought tickets for Nigel Slater's Toast also bought tickets for...

  • comedy

    Karen Fisher aka Fisch is part of the Rebel Dyke Project, a group of, mainly, lesbian outsiders from the 1980’s. Fisch has been a significant member of this liv...

    Tue 21 May

  • opera

    A Chamber Opera by Gavin Bryars, libretto by Marilyn Bowering. It is the night of August 5th, 1962, the last night of Marilyn Monroe's life. As men enter her b...

    Wed 22 , Fri 24 - Sat 25 May

  • music

    Featuring Adrian Cox (clarinet) Play Jazz at Vespers Does New Orleans jazz belong in church? 65 years ago, in Oxford, Ohio, the c...

    Wed 22 May

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue