Bruckner Symphony no.6


Weber Der Freischütz Overture
Joseph Phibbs Clarinet Concerto
Bruckner Symphony No.6

Oxford Symphony Orchestra, Mark van de Wiel clarinet, Robert Max conductor

 'Bruckner's "saucy" sixth is the symphony that disproves those lazy received opinions about his music' says Tom Service in his 50 greatest symphonies series for The Guardian.  For Bruckner too it was a favourite. It evokes joy, pain, consolation and hope and concludes in resplendent exultation.

Joseph Phibbs' orchestral music is both exciting and marvellously crafted, 'hugely satisfying'. His new Clarinet Concerto is a commission by Mark van de Wiel and the Philharmonia Orchestra. Mark's Oxford performance follows the London premiere.

Weber's Der Freischütz Overture is one of his most popular orchestral works and provides a dramatic and tuneful opening to the concert.
 

Accompanied children under 16 can attend free of charge, but please select that ticket type for each child attending.

Duration: 2 hours with interval

Book Tickets

  • Sat 18 Nov 7:30 PM £16.00 (£14 / £5 Students)
visit Oxford Town Hall website

Book Tickets

  • Sat 18 November 7:30 PM
£16.00 (£14 / £5 Students)

People who bought tickets for Bruckner Symphony no.6 also bought tickets for...

  • family, music

    Monkeys, bears, socks and mud! Nick Cope sings about everything children are REALLY interested in, and you’re invited to join in! Ex indie-rocker frontman of T...

    Sat 30 Sep & Sat 21 Oct

  • music

    Great chamber music performed by the country’s finest musicians and ensembles in the stunning churches of St Marys, in the beautif...

    Sun 24 Sep, Sun 8 Oct, Sun 22 Oct, Sun 5 Nov, Sun 19 Nov & Sun 10 Dec

  • music

    Krysia Osostowicz, violin Daniel Tong, piano Beethoven Plus! emerged from Krysia and Daniel’s experience of working together on the ten Beethoven sonatas for...

    Fri 22 Sep

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue