Bruch: Odysseus


Odysseus is full of richly melodic and dramatic music. Written in 1872 and inspired by the composer’s veneration for Homer’s epic, it consists of a series of contrasting scenes taken from the Odyssey, including ‘Odysseus on Calypso’s Island’, ‘Odysseus in the Underworld’, ‘The Tempest at Sea’, ‘Penelope’s Lament’, ‘Nausicaa’, ‘The Banquet with the Phaeacians’ and ‘The Return’.

The chorus is given a major part, playing many different roles in the story.  ‘Of all joys, home is the loveliest in the world’ sings Odysseus in the opening scene, and love of the homeland permeates the work. Don’t miss the opportunity to hear this deeply romantic piece.

Duration: 2 hours 15mins with interval

Book Tickets

  • Sat 30 Nov 7:30 PM £18.00/£15.00
visit Oxford Town Hall website

Book Tickets

  • Sat 30 November 7:30 PM

To book a Wheelchair Space, please call 01865 305 305


Full-Time Students & Under 18s: Tickets Half Price

People who bought tickets for Bruch: Odysseus also bought tickets for...

  • music

    Choral Masterpieces of Oxford Music of the Spires is our celebration of the English choral tradition with a focus on repertoire from the Tudor period and prese...

    Fri 20 Sep

  • music

    MOZART Sonata in C major K330 BEETHOVEN Sonata in F minor Op 57 Appassionata CHOPIN Nocturne in D flat major Op 27 No 2 Grande V...

    Sat 21 Sep, 5pm

  • music

    On 20th Anniversary of the launch of Peace One Day, Rotarians in Oxfordshire and the Thames Valley in collaboration with The Wor...

    Sat 21 Sep

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue