Beethoven 9

Beethoven 9

Janáček Sinfonietta

Beethoven Symphony no.9 ('Choral') 
Charlotte Bowden soprano, Amy Shaw mezzo soprano, Michael Bell tenor, Ki Hyun Lee bass

The Oxford Chorus chorus master, Janet Lincé

Robert Max conductor 
Beethoven's Ninth Symphony is a life-affirming masterpiece. It was an inspiration to other composers and continues to be one of his best-loved works. Janáček described his Sinfonietta as embodying the ideals of 'contemporary free man'. Scored for a large orchestra including 25 brass players, it includes one of the most wonderful of all orchestral fanfares.

Duration: 2 hours with interval

Book Tickets

visit Sheldonian Theatre website

Book Tickets

  • Sat 22 June 7:30 PM

To book a Wheelchair Space for this event, please call 01865 305 305.

All seating for this event is Unreserved over different levels.

People who bought tickets for Beethoven 9 also bought tickets for...

  • music

    June 2nd: Heath Quartet - Adderbury Beethoven: String Quartet no 8 in e minor, op 59 no 2 Britten: String Quartet no 1 in D major, op 25 Schoenberg: Strin...

    Various Dates 28 April to 21 July 2019

  • music

    Join us for a spectacular evening as Oxford Festival of the Arts and Ronnie Scott’s partner for the first time to celebrate 60 years of the legendary club in wh...

    Sat 22 Jun

  • music

    Martyn Jackson violin Jenny Sacha violin Chris Windass viola Vanessa Mcnaught viola Jane Fenton cello Vaughan Williams String Quintet Mozart String Quintet

    Sun 23 Jun

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue