Jacqueline du Pre Music Building

The Villiers Quartet

Discovering Delius

Tickets from £20 to £25

Mozart - Quartet E-flat Major, K.428

Delius – 1888 Quartet


Ethel Smyth - Quartet in E minor

The Villiers Quartet presents a programme featuring works by Mozart, Frederick Delius, and Ethel Smyth. Opening the concert is Mozart’s sublime Quartet in E-flat Major, written with a rich exploration of chromaticism and dissonant harmonies. At the centre of Discovering Delius is the complete version of Delius’s first string quartet. Until recently, only the two final movements of the work were known to have survived. In 2019, the other two missing movements appeared for sale at auction and were purchased by the Delius Trust. These movements were prepared in first edition by Prof. Daniel Grimley, and The Villiers Quartet perform the work in its entirety at the JdP Music Building for this concert. Alongside The Delius Quartet is a significant work by one of his contemporaries, Dame Ethel Smyth. Written in 1912, her Quartet in E minor reflects the work of an ambitious composer wanting to share her voice amidst a transformative time for women’s rights in the 20th Century. Please click here for more on this concert and the JdP Music Building.

Wheelchair Spaces & Accessible Seating

If you require a wheelchair space or accessible seating for this event, please call 01865 305 305 or email boxoffice@oxfordplayhouse.com for further assistance.