Oxford Chamber Music Festival

Ukrainian Soul

OCMF for Ukraine

Tickets £28

Oxford Chamber Music Festival

Lyatoshinsky's quartet is a real find, wonderfully fresh and filled with memorable Ukrainian folktunes – reminiscent of English 'pastoral' music such as Vaughan Williams' celebrated Lark Ascending, also written during wartime. Kapustin's piano quintet is another ear-opener, filled with the sounds of nightclub jazz, slinky, syncopated, and wildly upbeat – and a total contrast to two typically gentle works by Valentin Silvestrov, one serene, one searching. Schubert's Fantasie is simply one of his very greatest masterworks.

Valentin Silvestrov Evening Serenade for strings

and Lacrimosa for viola

Schubert Fantasie for four hands in F minor D940

Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending (original version 1914)

Borys Lyatoshinsky String quartet no4 (on Ukrainian themes)

Nicolai Kapustin Piano quintet op89

Buy a ticket for all 5 Oxford Chamber Music Festival concerts for £120. Payment must be made in one transaction and the price will convert automatically in your basket.

Wheelchair Spaces

If you require a wheelchair space for this event, please call 01865 305 305 or email boxoffice@oxfordplayhouse.com for further assistance.