Oxford May Music

Festival Finale

Mendelssohn, Spohr and Beethoven end the Festival

Tickets £23 (includes entry to Monday's lecture)

F. Mendelssohn: String Sinfonia No. 1 in C major

L. Spohr: Nonet for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Horn, Bassoon, Violin, Viola, Cello, and Double Bass in F major, Op. 31

L. van Beethoven: String Quintet in C major, Op. 29

C. Saluste-Bridoux - violin
J. Liebeck - violin
B. Roskams - viola
S. Oswell - viola
T. Caroll - cello
C. Miles - cello
S. Watton - double bass
J. Bliss - clarinet
The Festival Players

As usual, the finale crowds the stage with most of our Festival players. A nonet is pretty much the largest chamber grouping short of a string orchestra and we have a wonderful example from Spohr, known both for his violin virtuosity as well as his compositions. A very early work by Mendelssohn is indeed for string orchestra and, although young, he demonstrates astonishing musical talent. We conclude with a work new to the Festival, Beethoven’s only string quintet, often given the soubriquet “Storm” from its turbulent last movement. It is a transitional work between his early and middle periods and a little known and fascinating work from the great master.

Tickets for Under 25's available free through the Cavatina ticket scheme from Oxford May Music direct - please contact [email protected]

Wheelchair Spaces

If you require a wheelchair space for this event, please call 01865 305 305 or email [email protected] for further assistance.