Faculty of Music, University of Oxford

Castalian String Quartet

Mozart & Mendelssohn

Tickets £15

Mozart - String Quartet No. 15 in D minor, K. 421

Fanny Mendelssohn - String Quartet in E flat major


Felix Mendelssohn – String Quartet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80

The Castalian String Quartet presents a programme of three string quartets from Viennese composers. Starting with one of Mozart's quartet tributes to Haydn, his String Quartet No. 15 in D minor; this is followed by one of the earliest known string quartets written by a woman composer, Fanny Mendelssohn's String Quartet in E flat major; and ending with Felix Mendelssohn’s final String Quartet, his last major work, powerful and tempestuous.

The concert will be preceded by a talk by Dr Sebastian Wedler at 6.30pm.

The Faculty of Music regrets to announce that the quartet will no longer be performing Beethoven's String Quartet No. 3 in D major, Op. 18/3 or Berg's – String Quartet, Op. 3. Ticket holders will be notified shortly with more information.

Find out more about the residency on the Faculty of Music website

Wheelchair Spaces & Accessible Seating

If you require a wheelchair space or accessible seating for this event, please call 01865 305 305 or email boxoffice@oxfordplayhouse.com for further assistance.