Faculty of Music, University of Oxford

Castalian String Quartet

Tickets £15

A musical group with their instruments

Haydn - String Quartet no.1 Op.20
Saariaho - ‘Terra Memoria’
Britten - String Quartet no.2

Pre-concert talk at 6.45pm with Professor Jonathan Cross.

The Castalian String Quartet is taking the international chamber music scene by storm. Gaining renown for interpretations “full of poetry, joy and sorrow, realised to such perfection” (The Observer), they have recently been chosen as our first quartet for the Hans Keller String Quartet Residency. They return to Oxford in February to perform works by Haydn, Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho, and Benjamin Britten’s second string quartet.

Formed in 2011, the quartet studied with Oliver Wille at the Hochschule für Musik, Hannover, before being selected by the Young Classical Artists Trust (YCAT) in 2016. They were awarded First Prize at the 2015 Lyon International Chamber Music Competition and in 2018 were recipients of the inaugural Merito String Quartet Award and Valentin Erben Prize, and a prestigious Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship. The ensemble was named Young Artist of the Year at the 2019 Royal Philharmonic Society Awards.

This concert forms part of the Hans Keller String Quartet Residency at the Oxford University Faculty of Music. The Faculty are grateful for the generosity of The Cosman Keller Art & Music Trust for their donation to the Castalian String Quartet to support this concert.

To find out more about this residency and other performances, please visit the Faculty of Music's residency page.

There will be a handful of free tickets available on the door for under 21s and staff and students of the Faculty of Music. For more information, please contact events@music.ox.ac.uk