Faculty of Music, University of Oxford

Castalian String Quartet

Janacek, Ligeti, Schubert

Tickets £15

Janáček, String Quartet no. 1, 'Kreutzer Sonata'

Ligeti, String Quartet no. 1, ‘Métamorphoses nocturnes’

Schubert, String Quartet no. 15 in G major, D887

The Castalian String Quartet present an exploration of works by composers from central Europe, from Janáček's dramatic retelling of Leo Tolstoy’s novella of the same name, to Ligeti’s micropolyphonic Métamorphoses nocturnes, and culminating in one of the summits of the string quartet repertoire, the last string quartet composed by Franz Schubert.

The concert will be followed by a Q&A session with the quartet, chaired by Professor Laura Tunbridge.

Wheelchair Spaces & Accessible Seating

If you require a wheelchair space or accessible seating for this event, please call 01865 305 305 or email boxoffice@oxfordplayhouse.com for further assistance.

Tickets for Under 21s

Under 21s receive free entry. Please contact events@music.ox.ac.uk to book your free ticket.

Faculty of Music Staff and Students

Please contact events@music.ox.ac.uk to book your free ticket.