Oxford Bach Choir

125th Anniversary Concert

Oxford Bach Choir | Oxford Town Hall

Tickets from £20 to £45

In this Gala Concert to celebrate Oxford Bach Choir’s 125th anniversary, the choir will be joined by four first class soloists in Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9. 'The Choral Symphony' – featuring Beethoven’s famous setting of Schiller’s ‘Ode to Joy’ – is one of his greatest achievements, and beloved by audiences worldwide.

The programme opens with the première of To Spring, a setting of a poem by William Blake by the talented young composer Alissa Firsova, which has been specially commissioned for our 125th anniversary. Francis Poulenc’s Gloria, for soprano, choir and orchestra, completes the programme for this exciting concert in Oxford Town Hall. The concert will be preceded at 4pm by a short talk on the history of the Oxford Bach Choir, by the university archivist and historian, Dr Robin Darwall-Smith.

Oxford Bach Choir, Philharmonia Orchestra

Susan Gritton (sop) Hilary Summers (alto) Luis Gomes (tenor) James Rutherford (bass)

Wheelchair Spaces & Accessible Seating

If you require a wheelchair space or accessible seating for this event, please call 01865 305 305 or email boxoffice@oxfordplayhouse.com for further assistance.

Group Bookings

Groups of 10 or more receive a 10% discount on Full Price tickets (cannot be used in conjunction with any other discount or concession). Please book via the Box Office on 01865 305 305.