Sibelius Symphony No. 5

Oxford Symphony Orchestra

Josef Strauss Music of the Spheres
Dvořák Piano Concerto
Sibelius Symphony No. 5

Julian Trevelyan piano
Robert Max conductor

Sibelius's orchestral music is much-loved by concert audiences and his Fifth Symphony is described by Classic FM as having 'the greatest finale of all time'. Sibelius's love of nature here comes to the fore with an exultant theme inspired by the magnificent sight of swans flying in formation. Josef Strauss provides a magical opening to the concert with a sparkling waltz and the centrepiece is Dvořák's tuneful and warm-hearted Piano Concerto.

Julian Trevelyan, soloist in the concerto, is a BBC Young Musician keyboard finalist and a prizewinning pianist with an exceptional international competition record.

Duration: 2 hours

Book Tickets

Book Tickets

Children under the age of 16 may attend free of charge with an accompanying adult. 

People who bought tickets for Sibelius Symphony No. 5 also bought tickets for...

  • music, talks & lectures

    Professor Brian Cox, University of Manchester Jack Liebeck – violin; the Festival Orchestra Professor Brian Cox returns to Oxfor...

    Sat 29 Apr

  • music, theatre

    This April, Oxford Operatic Society invites you to enjoy the music of operetta with their show ‘A Celebration of Operetta’. Split into two acts, A Celebration...

    Sat 29 Apr

  • music

    Piatti String Quartet Haydn String Quartet op 33 no.3 Debussy String Quartet Season Ticket Price:  £120. Please add a ticket for each concert to your basket...

    Sun 30 Apr

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue