Shostakovich: 24 Preludes & Fugues

Shostakovich: 24 Preludes & Fugues


Pre-concert talk at 6.45pm

Shostakovich wrote his massive cycle of 24 Preludes and Fugues Op. 87 in the space of only four months. A fusion of Bachian archetypes, a particularly Russian counterpoint (instigated in the late 19th century by Taneyev), Soviet classicism and Shostakovich’s unmistakable voice, Shostakovich’s Op. 87 quickly became a cornerstone of twentieth-century piano polyphony.

Duration: 4:00 (including pre-concert talk and interval)

Book Tickets

  • Fri 4 May 2018 7:30 PM £18.00/£13.00 (£5)

Book Tickets

  • Fri 4 May 7:30 PM

The pre-concert talk and concert will both be live-streamed via our website. Visit jdp.sthildas.ox.ac.uk/livestream for more information.

People who bought tickets for Shostakovich: 24 Preludes & Fugues also bought tickets for...

  • family, music

    Monkeys, bears, socks and mud! Nick Cope sings about everything children are REALLY interested in, and you’re invited to join in! Ex indie-rocker frontman of T...

    Sat 30 Sep & Sat 21 Oct

  • music

    Great chamber music performed by the country’s finest musicians and ensembles in the stunning churches of St Marys, in the beautif...

    Sun 24 Sep, Sun 8 Oct, Sun 22 Oct, Sun 5 Nov, Sun 19 Nov & Sun 10 Dec

  • music

    Krysia Osostowicz, violin Daniel Tong, piano Beethoven Plus! emerged from Krysia and Daniel’s experience of working together on the ten Beethoven sonatas for...

    Fri 22 Sep

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue