Oxford Bach Choir

Oxford Bach Choir

J S Bach Mass in B minor

David Crown Conductor
Julia Doyle Soprano
Catherine Hopper Mezzo-Soprano
Thomas Elwin Tenor
Darren Jeffery Bass

J S Bach composed his Mass in B minor at the end of his life, knitting together newly composed music with detailed reworkings of older pieces as a single great summing up of his work as a composer of sacred music. Today its superb craftsmanship and depth of emotion make it one of the supreme masterpieces of the choral repertoire. The Oxford Bach Choir has long had a close relationship with the Mass, ever since it gave the work its first Oxford performance back in 1903. The Choir now looks afresh at this great work under its new Principal Conductor David Crown accompanied by the London Mozart Players.



Season Discount for 6+ concerts: The same number of tickets for 6 concerts in the same season must be purchased in the same transaction to enable a discount of 15% of the full price ticket value. This discount can apply to any price band across the 6 concerts. This will automatically apply in your basket once you click through to the last page before payment. 

Please note that Music at Oxford offer discounts for wheelchairs users, people of limited mobility, carers and their own stewards through their phone line booking: 01865 244 806

Running Time: 2:15

Book Tickets

Book Tickets

People who bought tickets for Oxford Bach Choir also bought tickets for...

  • music

    Great chamber music performed by the country’s finest musicians and ensembles in the stunning churches of St Marys, in the beautiful north Oxfordshire village o...

    Sun 25 Jun - Sun 9 Jul

  • music

    The choir of Magdalen College perform a beautiful programme of English music for a summer’s evening, including Finzi’s Die Natalis...

    Wed 28 Jun

  • music

    JS Bach: Toccata in C minor BWV 911 Schumann: Papilons, Op. 2 Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker Suite for solo piano (arr Mikhail Pietnev) Liszt: Benediction de Di...

    Thu 29 Jun

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue