Othello

Othello


Othello is one of Shakespeare’s most startlingly contemporary plays – an electrifying thriller and masterful depiction of a life torn apart by prejudice.

Venice: a western colonial power employs the newlymarried Othello, a Muslim general, to lead their army against the impending Turkish invasion.

The difficulties of fitting into a society riven by discrimination, fear and mistrust soon take their toll on Othello. Manipulated by Iago, his life quickly unravels as he turns on everything he holds dear.

Following a critically acclaimed tour and London run, Richard Twyman’s vital production of Othello is brought to the stage by UK Theatre Award winners English Touring Theatre in a co-production with Oxford Playhouse and Shakespeare at the Tobacco Factory.

Book Tickets

  • Tue 18 Sep 7:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Wed 19 Sep 7:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Thu 20 Sep 7:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Fri 21 Sep 8:00 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Sat 22 Sep 2:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Sat 22 Sep 7:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
visit Oxford Playhouse website

Book Tickets

  • Tue 18 September 7:30 PM
  • Wed 19 September 7:30 PM
  • Thu 20 September 7:30 PM
  • Fri 21 September 8:00 PM
  • Sat 22 September 2:30 PM
  • Sat 22 September 7:30 PM

Age guideline: 12+

Full Circle and Enjoy get 50% off a pair of tickets for opening night or Saturday matinee.

undefined

  • One of the best I have seen.
       
    Observer
  • An astute and powerful production.
       
    Times
  • Articulate, dynamic and thrilling.
       
    Stage

People who bought tickets for Othello also bought tickets for...

  • theatre

    On a glorious summer evening on the terrace of a stylish Rivera hotel, two couples are on honeymoon. As the pre-dinner martinis flow, fate deals a strange hand....

    Wadham College Gardens - Various Dates & Times 6th August - 18th August

  • music

    The Oxford Early Music Festival Virtuosic wind music for the royal and ducal courts of baroque Europe. Masterpieces by Fasch, Handel, Telemann, Vivaldi, etc....

    Tue 10 Jul, Sun 5 & Fri 17 Aug

  • music

    Programme: Tim Perkins    A Veil of Crimson and Blue Rachmaninov   Piano Concerto No 2 in C minor Op.18 Weber  Concertino fo...

    Sat 18 Aug

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue