Othello


Othello is one of Shakespeare’s most startlingly contemporary plays – an electrifying thriller and masterful depiction of a life torn apart by prejudice.

Venice: a western colonial power employs the newlymarried Othello, a Muslim general, to lead their army against the impending Turkish invasion.

The difficulties of fitting into a society riven by discrimination, fear and mistrust soon take their toll on Othello. Manipulated by Iago, his life quickly unravels as he turns on everything he holds dear.

Following a critically acclaimed tour and London run, Richard Twyman’s vital production of Othello is brought to the stage by UK Theatre Award winners English Touring Theatre in a co-production with Oxford Playhouse and Shakespeare at the Tobacco Factory.

Book Tickets

  • Tue 18 Sep 7:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Wed 19 Sep 7:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Thu 20 Sep 7:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Fri 21 Sep 8:00 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Sat 22 Sep 2:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Sat 22 Sep 7:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
visit Oxford Playhouse website

Book Tickets

  • Tue 18 September 7:30 PM
  • Wed 19 September 7:30 PM
  • Thu 20 September 7:30 PM
  • Fri 21 September 8:00 PM
  • Sat 22 September 2:30 PM
  • Sat 22 September 7:30 PM

Age guideline: 12+

  • One of the best I have seen.
       
    Observer
  • An astute and powerful production.
       
    Times
  • Articulate, dynamic and thrilling.
       
    Stage

People who bought tickets for Othello also bought tickets for...

  • music

    Great chamber music performed by the country’s finest musicians and ensembles in the stunning church of St Marys, in the beautiful...

    St Mary's Church Adderbury and Church of St Peter & St Paul Deddington - April to July

  • music

    Jubilate Chamber Choir - Bach Motets & Organ Works Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden BWV 230 Komm, Jesu, komm BWV 229 Ich lasse dich nicht BWV Anh. 159 Der Geis...

    Fri 22 Jun

  • music

    The Seasons, first performed in 1801, was written as a sequel to The Creation and has received equal critical acclaim ever since. In music full of vitality, col...

    Sat 23 Jun

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue