Sansara | Music of the Spires

Join us for the launch of our new concert series, Music of the Spires - celebrating choral music housed in Oxford’s unparalleled collections.

For this first concert, we will perform Robert Fayrfax’s Missa O Bone Jesu alongside music by Tallis, Parsons, Gibbons and Marco Galvani.

In Music of the Spires we will perform several of the festal masses by John Taverner and Robert Fayrfax from the Forrest-Heyther partbooks, a collection dating from c. 1530. These large scale and highly complex pieces were written for special occasions in the liturgical year, and our selection features masses for Candlemas, Trinity, St Michael’s and Christmas. We will perform the masses around the time of year when they would have been first performed over 500 years ago. 

Duration: 1 Hour 30 Minutes with interval

Book Tickets

  • Sat 27 Jan 7:30 PM £15.00
visit Pusey House Chapel website

Book Tickets

  • Sat 27 January 7:30 PM


Tallis - Videte miraculum

Fayrfax - Missa O Bone Jesu Gloria

Parsons - Ave Maria

Galvani - Ave Sanctissima Maria

Fayrfax - Missa O Bone Jesu, Credo

Tallis - Quod chorus vatum

Parsons - O Bone Jesu

Fayrfax - Missa O Bone Jesu, Sanctus & Benedictus 

Tallis - In manus tuas

Fayrfax - Missa O Bone Jesu, Agnus dei

Gibbons - Nunc dimittis

People who bought tickets for Sansara | Music of the Spires also bought tickets for...

  • music

    Nos. 1-12 Interval Nos. 13-24 Daughter of a cathedral organist, the young Angela Hewitt ‘danced to Bach, sang to Bach, played him on the violin and recorder..’...

    Wed 24 Jan

  • music

    Natalie Clein, ‘cello Alexander Janiczek, violin Dan Edgar, violin James Boyd, viola Instruments of Time and Truth   Prog...

    Sat 27 Jan

  • music

    Programme: Schumann: Kinderszenen, op 15 Chopin: Three Mazurkas, op 59 Liszt: Piano Sonata in B minor, S178

    Sun 28 Jan

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue