Jonathan Powell (piano) Murail & Stockhausen

Jonathan Powell (piano) Murail & Stockhausen


Pre-concert talk at 6.45pm

Karlheinz Stockhausen’s Klavierstücke are highly diverse. They take the listener on an extraordinary journey from the post-Webernian (no. 5), through meditative incantation (no. 9), extreme violence (no. 10) to the melody-driven narrative of no. 12, an excerpt from his opera cycle Licht.
Tristan Murail’s Territoires de l’oubli is probably the first extended work that applies the ‘spectral’ method to the solo piano. The instrument is used as a resonating chamber, resulting in a huge wash of sometimes very gradually changing sound.

Programme:

Tristan Murail - Territoires de l’oubli
Karlheinz Stockhausen - Klavierstücke V, IX, X, XII

Duration: 2:55 (including pre-concert talk and interval)

Book Tickets

  • Sat 21 Oct 7:30 PM £13.00/£10.00 (£5)

Book Tickets

  • Sat 21 October 7:30 PM

This event (including the pre-concert talk) will be livestreamed via our website. Visit jdp.sthildas.ox.ac.uk/livestream for more information.

People who bought tickets for Jonathan Powell (piano) Murail & Stockhausen also bought tickets for...

  • family, music

    Monkeys, bears, socks and mud! Nick Cope sings about everything children are REALLY interested in, and you’re invited to join in! Ex indie-rocker frontman of T...

    Sat 30 Sep & Sat 21 Oct

  • music

    Great chamber music performed by the country’s finest musicians and ensembles in the stunning churches of St Marys, in the beautif...

    Sun 24 Sep, Sun 8 Oct, Sun 22 Oct, Sun 5 Nov, Sun 19 Nov & Sun 10 Dec

  • music

    Krysia Osostowicz, violin Daniel Tong, piano Beethoven Plus! emerged from Krysia and Daniel’s experience of working together on the ten Beethoven sonatas for...

    Fri 22 Sep

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue