East Meets West

East Meets West

East meets West is a touring collaboration between the Oxford – based Russian pianist Ilya Chetverikov and the English cellist Ruth Henley, who will be performing music from their respective countries. The concert opens and closes with two mighty Russian sonatas, those of Shostakovich and Rachmaninov. The central piece is a new work, the Sonata No 3, by Paul Henley who is Ruth’s husband. He was recently highly commended in a competition run by the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, adjudicated by Mark-Anthony Turnage. The third sonata is a work full of both drama and beauty, readily accessible to its audience and engaging for the performers.

Ruth Henley, twice winner of the chamber music prize at college, is a highly experienced recitalist. She has performed extensively in the United Kingdom including as soloist in many of the major concertos, among them those by Elgar, Schumann and Dvořák

Described as "a musician who delivers a strong message" Ilya is a pianist of international reputation. Brought up in the rich tradition of the Russian piano school, he was a prize winner of several international competitions in Ukraine and Lithuania and has performed as a soloist with orchestras in concertos by Bach and Rachmaninov.

Duration: 1 hour 50mins

Book Tickets

Book Tickets

People who bought tickets for East Meets West also bought tickets for...

  • music, talks & lectures

    Professor Brian Cox, University of Manchester Jack Liebeck – violin; the Festival Orchestra Professor Brian Cox returns to Oxfor...

    Sat 29 Apr

  • music, theatre

    This April, Oxford Operatic Society invites you to enjoy the music of operetta with their show ‘A Celebration of Operetta’. Split into two acts, A Celebration...

    Sat 29 Apr

  • music

    Piatti String Quartet Haydn String Quartet op 33 no.3 Debussy String Quartet Season Ticket Price:  £120. Please add a ticket for each concert to your basket...

    Sun 30 Apr

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue