City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Sibelius King Christian II Suite                                             

Schumann Konzertstück for four horns and orchestra op. 86

Schubert Symphony no. 8 in B minor D. 759, Unfinished                 

Sibelius Symphony no. 7 in C op. 105


Nicholas Collon is without doubt one of the UK's most exciting younger conductors, with a stellar career, and Music at Oxford is thrilled by his choice of repertoire for this concert with the marvellous CBSO. Sibelius's King Christian II Suiteis a stirring work which runs the full gamut of emotions, while his searingly beautiful 7th Symphony – though not 'unfinished' like the symphony of Schubert – is unusual for being contained in one just continuous movement. For sheer bravura, not much beats Schumann's Konzertstück –essentially a concerto for all four horns of the orchestra!

Season Discount for 6+ concerts: The same number of tickets for 6 concerts in the same season must be purchased in the same transaction to enable a discount of 15% of the full price ticket value. This discount can apply to any price band across the 6 concerts. This will automatically apply in your basket once you click through to the last page before payment. 

Please note that Music at Oxford offer discounts for wheelchairs users, people of limited mobility, carers and their own stewards through their phone line booking: 01865 244 806

Running Time: 2:20

Book Tickets

Book Tickets

Please note that in light of recent national events, rucksacks and suitcases will not be allowed into the venue for this concert. 

People who bought tickets for City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra also bought tickets for...

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue